Go to content Go to the menu Go to the search

Home - Federative Research Institute
Immunity - Cancer - Infection

Parternships

upmc

 faculte de medecine UPMC

APHP

inserm

cnrs

The IFR 113 Immunity-Cancer-Infection comprises 15 research teams working on the topics of the institute. Beyond the individual projects of each partner - including studies of the immune system under normal and pathological conditions, of infectious agents and cancer - strong interactions are generated linking immunity and infection, immunity and cancer as well as cancer and infection. These very strong links and the close cooperation between laboratories involved in basic research with clinical departments of the Pitié-Salpêtrière hospital are characteristic for the activities of IFR 113 and provide for quality, originality and innovation. Ultimately, these interactions underlie the international reputation of the institute.
The IFR is headed by Prof. Brigitte Autran and Prof. David Klatzmann and aims to coordinate the following research programs:

  • studies of host-pathogen interactions for 3 important infectious diseases - HIV, mycobateria and plasmodium - focussing on physiological and pathophysiological mechanisms of innate and adaptive immunity,
  • epidemiological, clinical and microbiological investigations of infectious agents - HIV, HCV/HBV, Herpesvirus, mycobacteria, plasmodium - addressing propagation, anti-infectious therapies and microbial multiresistance appearing after these treatments,
  • studies of the immune-modulatory effects mediated by regulatory T cells in close relation with systemic inflammatory pathologies and auto-immune diseases,
  • investigations on biodiversity including (i) the spontaneous and treatment induced genetic diversity of pathogens, (ii) human genetics relevant to infectious diseases, (iii) post-genomic transcriptional and proteomic analyses and (iv) the system biology of pathogens and hosts,
  • studies of cancer addressing control by the immune system and relation with infectious pathogens.

Ultimately, innovative vaccines and biotherapies are developed. The activities range from pre-clinical experimental studies to the set-up of phase I / II clinical trials. The approaches take advantage of state of the art cell transplantation and gene transfer technology.

Aller au contenu Aller au menu Aller à la recherche

Accueil - Institut Fédératif de Recherche
Immunité - Cancer - Infection

Partenariats

upmc

 faculte de medecine UPMC

APHP

inserm

cnrs

Chiffres-clé

Chiffres clés

  • 5 unités
  • 15 équipes de recherche

L’IFR 113 Immunite-Cancer-Infection réunit 15 équipes EPST, universitaires et hospitalières impliquées dans des recherches sur ces thématiques. Au delà des études propres à chacun des partenaires - du système immunitaire normal et pathologique, des agents infectieux ou du cancer - les thématiques des différentes équipes sont largement de nature transversale : immunité et infection, immunité et cancer, infection et cancer. Une très forte interaction entre ces thématiques et entre les laboratoires de recherches expérimentales et les structures hospitalières caractérise les travaux de l’IFR, et en font la qualité et l’originalité. Ces interactions lui ont permis d’acquérir une stature internationale.

L’IFR co-dirigé par le Pr Brigitte Autran et le Pr David Klatzmann poursuit une stratégie de synergie de ses programmes communs :

  •  l’étude des interactions hôte-pathogènes sur les 3 grandes maladies transmissibles - VIH, mycobactéries et plasmodium - sous l’angle des mécanismes physiologiques et physiopathologiques de l’immunité innée et adaptative,
  •  l’étude épidémiologique, clinique et microbiologique des agents infectieux - VIH, HCV/HBV, Herpesvirus, mycobactéries, plasmodium - sous l’angle de leur propagation, des thérapeutiques anti-infectieuses et des multirésistances microbiennes survenant suite à ces traitements,
  •  l’étude de l’immunomodulation amenée par les cellules T régulatrices, en relation avec les pathologies inflammatoires systémiques et auto-immunes,
  •  l’étude de la biodiversité sous les aspects, (I) de diversité génétique des pathogènes, spontanée ou induite par les traitements, (II) de génétique humaine appliquée aux maladies infectieuses, (III) de post-génomique transcriptionnelle et protéomique, et enfin (IV) de biologie de systèmes des pathogènes et leurs hôtes.
  •  l’étude des cancers sous l’aspect des intrications avec les pathogènes infectieux et de leur contrôle par le système immunitaire.

Enfin les biothérapies et la vaccinologie sont coordonnées depuis les travaux expérimentaux pré-cliniques jusqu’à la réalisation d’essais cliniques de phase I et II. Ces  travaux s’inscrivent notamment dans le développement des vaccins, des greffes et des thérapies cellulaires et géniques.